(Note that Club founder BH Wood has his own Roll of Honour sub-page.)

Sutton YMCA was affiliated to the Birmingham & District Chess League in 1937 and have played in that League ever since. We became Sutton Coldfield in 1939.

Prior to our present venue, Minworth Social Club, we played at the Erdington Club, Jaguar Social Club, Erdington Conservative Club (for nearly nine years), Sutton Coldfield British Legion, Veseyan Sports Club, Boldmere Middle School, and others before that.

Over fifteen consecutive seasons, 1956 to 1971, we fielded a minimum of five teams in the Birmingham League. We have been Division 1 Champions 8 times, and have won the Terrill Trophy 8 times; the latter is a record.

We have played in the Cannock & District Chess League continuously since 2005. In 2015 we were Champions of both Division 1 and Division 2, and in 2016 we retained the Division 1 Championship.

This century 4 of our juniors have been British Champions in various age groups: Sabrina Chevannes, Henrik Stepanyan, Astghik Stepanyan, and Chirag Guha.

Also this century, more titled players have given simultaneous displays at our Club than at any other Midlands club: Lawrence Cooper, Robert Bellin, and Thomas Rendle - all of them International Masters at the time.

In 2015 the Club won the ECF National Club Championship Open section, as well as the Intermediate and Minor sections. We last won the National Club Championship in the 1960-1961 season.

In 2016 the Club retained the National Club Championship, and won the Birmingham League Championship for the first time in thirty-seven years.


To be updated with several more significant and record-making successes since 2016.